Historically, nursing has been one of the few fields in the healthcare industry that is dominated by women. The profession employs approximately 170,000 male nurses across the US, which is less than six percent of all nurses. The perks and promise of a stable career and the fulfillment of engaging in a noble career, however, have meant more and more men are considering nursing as a viable career choice. The number of male nurses is growing at an impressive rate of three percent a year, and by 2020, the male faction is expected to represent 25 percent of all nurses in the US.

With the shift in the traditionally female-dominated industry has come a great demand for financial assistance for nursing programs for men. Although few and far between compared to assistance for women, there are still a number of nursing scholarships for men that can help a candidate pay for schooling and training, in preparation for the profession.

The most notable nursing scholarships available to men are offered by the American Assembly for Men in Nursing (AAMN), funded by the generosity of philanthropic individuals and corporate entities.

AAMN Scholarships


AAMN Johnson & Johnson

The scholarship was formed in 2004 and offers $1,000 to male nursing students with demonstrated accomplishments. The scholarship is available to up to 20 students annually, depending on funding. Students must have maintained a GPA of 2.75 in a pre-RN program.

Jadeh Marselis-Moore Student Nurse Essay Content

Available to male nursing students enrolled in the last year of an educational program leading to NCLEX-RN eligibility, this scholarship provides $500 to a student who writes the best response to a question furnished by AAMN. The deadline for applications is June 30.

AAMN Foundation Student Nurse Essay Contest

This scholarship is available to male nursing students enrolled in the final year of a pre-RN program leading to NCLEX-RX eligibility. The recipient receives $500 for writing the best response to a question posed by AAMN.

Scholarships and awards outside of AAMN include:

United Health Foundation

The National Eagle Scout Association is Offering one $25,000 to an applicant pursuing a career in the healthcare arena.


This series of scholarships is funded by the Common Knowledge Scholarship Foundation and is open to all applicants studying nursing. The CKSF Nursing Scholarship provides $1,500 to recipients.

Ruth-Alice Jacobs Roe Memorial

The scholarship is administered and presented by the Cleveland Foundation. The award varies, and recipients are funded based on eligibility and the nursing program they are pursuing. Applicants must be either an intern at St Vincent Charity Hospital engaged in additional nursing education, or a junior or senior in an Ohio college pursuing a 4-year undergraduate degree.

President's Lifetime Achievement Award

The President's Lifetime Achievement Award is available to members of the National Black Nurses’ Association. Sponsored by the same, this $2,000 award is available to students in their final year of nursing school. In choice of recipients, letters of recommendation from faculty and involvement in social issues and extracurricular activities figure prominently.

SSACI Male Nursing Scholarship

Sponsored by the State Student Assistance Commission of Indiana (SSACI), this male nursing scholarship is awarded to applicants officially registered at accredited programs in Indiana schools. The value of the scholarship is $5,000 annually.

Ohio Nurses Foundation

This scholarship is awarded to nursing students who are residents of Ohio. To be eligible, applicants must be enrolled in a full-time nursing program. Sponsored by the Ohio Nurses’ Association, this scholarship awards $1,000 to recipients.

Francis L. Moore

This scholarship has a more involved application process than most others in this list. Sponsored by the Courtney Owens Education Foundation, the Francis L. More Scholarship awards $2,000 to a deserving candidate each year. Eligibility requirements include membership in the National Student Nurses Association, satisfactory academic performance as evidenced by transcripts, and completed financial aid forms. Applicants are also required to write an essay and provide a letter of recommendation from a faculty member at the student’s nursing program.


The American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) provide several scholarships funded by different sponsors. Applicants must be enrolled in nursing programs in AACN member institutions. Some scholarships are open only to graduate and doctoral students whereas others are open to students at all levels.

Charles Kunz Memorial

The Charles Kunz Memorial Undergraduate Scholarship awards a sum of $3,000 to students in RN, LPN and LVN baccalaureate degree program, and is presented by the Emergency Nurses’ Association (ENA). Another award also presented by the ENA includes the ENA Foundation CEN Undergraduate Scholarship. This scholarship awards $2,000, to eligible students enrolled in RN, LPN and LVN degree programs; candidates must be members of the ENA.

National Association of Hispanic Nurses (NAHN)

There are several scholarships offered by the NAHN and its local chapters. Amounts vary depending on the specific local chapter. The San Diego Chapter of the NAHN awards as much as $8,000, whereas other local chapters awards smaller amounts.

Philippine Nurses’Association of America

This scholarship is awarded to one outstanding student member each year. Eligibility criteria include enrollment in a graduate or post-graduate nursing program, and membership in the Philippine Nurse’s Association of America. The award is $1,000.

Carolyn Scott “Spirit of Excellence”

This scholarship is sponsored by the Methodist Hospital Foundation, and provides funding up to $5,000 to nursing students with proven academic achievements. The scholarship may be applied from the sponsor’s website by March.


Presented by the American Association of Scholarship of Nurses, the CampusRN AACN Nursing Scholarship is open to students enrolled in a bachelors, masters or doctorate nursing degree program. The award is $2,500, and the deadline is April 1.

Schering-Plough Doctoral

The Schering-Plough Doctoral Scholarship is administered and sponsored by the Emergency Nurses’ Association. The scholarship is open to nursing students, who are members of the ENA, enrolled in doctoral or higher nursing programs. The award is valued at $10,000, the scholarship.